The following is a list of the officers for the Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Member Bio
Joan Cartan-Hansen
Joan Cartan-Hansen has been a producer/reporter/writer for Idaho Public Television since 1988. Joan is the lead producer/host for "D4K and a producer/reporter/writer for "Outdoor Idaho." In addition, she writes and produces a number of documentaries and occasionally contributed pieces to "The PBS News Hour." Joan has won a number of awards including several regional Emmy® Awards, gold medals at the New York Festivals, Tellys, CINE Golden Eagles and Platinum prizes at Worldfest. The National Educational Association and the Council on State Governments have also honored Joan for her educational projects. Joan has a science news blog for kids (

Besides NATAS-NW, Joan is active in several professional organizations: The Idaho Press Club and Capitolbeat. Joan also sits on the Idaho Supreme Courts Media/Courts Committee and is member of the Idaho Supreme Court's "Fire Brigade." A native Idahoan, Joan is married with two children.

Sara Givens
Vice President

Sara Givens is a production manager and editor at Small World Productions. Over the last 15 years she has worked on more than 30 travel shows for public television, including Emmy® award-winning shows Smart Travels and Adventures With Purpose. Sara has also worked for UWTV , shot and edited many broadcast political campaign commercials for a Seattle-based consulting firm, and had her photos published in National Geographic Traveler A native of Seattle, Sara has a degree in Communications and Media from The Evergreen State College. Outside of work, Sara enjoys travel, soccer, wine and adventurous food.

Tara Miller
Tara is a Digital Media Producer with 8-year portfolio of successfully constructing video content and digital content management, for leading providers of digital programming. Instrumental in filming and producing a mobile application program that earned an Emmy® Award nomination in the Advanced Media Category in 2007, and is currently the Social Media Chair for the Northwest chapter.
Steve Allwine

Steve Allwine has been involved with the Northwest Chapter of NATAS since 2004. Upon the advice of Mr. Sharify, Steve wrangled a way to attend the 2004 Regional EMMY® Awards by serving cocktails at the pre-show mixer. What a difference a couple years makes. After serving two terms as chapter Treasurer, Steve now serves on the chapter's board as Vice-President.

Steve currently works as the Director of Marketing & Technology for Johnson Braund, Inc. The allure of the family profession called to him after what felt like a lifetime in broadcast.

An '04 graduate of Central Washington University, and Green River Community College (go Gators!), Steve has been in and out of Seattle's Fisher Communications and Sandusky Broadcasting, working everything from overnight board op at Smooth Jazz at KWJZ, overnight announcer at KOMO 1000 AM, news writer at KOMO 4 TV, to executive news producer at KIMA TV 29 in Yakima.

Dick Splitstone
Past President
Alternate Trustee
Dick is a 37-year veteran of the news business. As an Executive Producer, he was a launch team member of Belo's Local News on Cable, a 24-hour regional news channel in Norfolk, VA, and has worked as a news producer at KIRO-TV in Seattle, WKBW-TV in Buffalo, New York and WTOL-TV in Toledo, Ohio. He also worked for a number of years as a radio reporter, anchor and News Director in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin and Cleveland, Ohio markets. He is currently Senior Executive Producer with NorthWest Cable News in Seattle.
Scott LaPlante
National Trustee
Independant producer, and former Director of News Technology KIRO-TV, Seattle. Scott started his career in Duluth Minnesota in 1972 as a Newsfilm photographer/editor. After working at several TV stations in the Midwest he moved to Seattle in 1980 as an editor for KING-TV. He became Chief Editor in 1981 and then Operations Manager at KING in 1984. He received two Emmy® Awards for his editing in the early 80's. As Operations Manager he also produced several News Specials and traveled to Russia, Hong Kong and China for the news department. He also produced the '88 Summer Olympics in Seoul, Korea and the '94 Games in Atlanta, GA for KING-TV. For ten years 1988 to 1998 Scott was the Northwest producer for NBC News. He produced numberous stories for the Today Show and Nightly News including the Live remote broadcast of the 10 Year Anniversary of Mt. St. Helens Eruption with Tom Brokaw. In 1999 he moved to KIRO-TV as News Operations Manager just in time for the Millennium. At KIRO he managed the photography, editing and news engineering staff as well as the various newsroom computer systems. Scott is the current National Trustee of the NATAS Northwest Chapter, after serving two years as President and four years as Vice President and Awards Chair. He receied the NW Chapter's Silver Circle Honor on June 15, 2013.
Diane Bevins
Chapter Administrator
President of Association Services, Inc., providing event planning and support services to professional non-profit associations, including database management, desktop publishing and specialty mailings and more. Executive Director for the Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Home About Us Board of Governors Officers