2017 Citations for Community Service Nominees announced

We are honored to announce the nominees for the 2017 Citations for Community Service.

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Northwest Chapter, has begun a new annual recognition for Community Service Programs to honor work from the three market sizes within our region. For a project and/or campaign to be considered, the company submitted a 500-word description of the project and a 15-minute video composite of their project, including only material as aired. No introductions, post-production, montages, music or special effects were allowed.

This is the first year of our program. We are amazed at the projects we received! Congratulations to each and every company and its’ staff.

Judging was handled in a similar way to the Emmy┬« Awards, except the individuals performing the judging were mainly from the non-profit sector, not involved in the broadcast industry. The highest score received in each of the market sizes, became the 100% with all entries ranked from that high score. 75% of the highest score has been deemed nominees. The winners in each market size will receive a plaque at the Emmy┬« Awards ceremony on June 3rd.  For Awards ceremony details, go to the NATASNW website at http://www.natasnw.org.

Large Market

KING 5 Home Team Harvest Food Drive • KING • Lisa Thompson, Director of Community Relations & Communications; Meghan Stewart, Multi-Platform Producer; Cheryl Carson, News Director; Jim Rose, President & General Manager; Peter O’Connell, Retired (former Director of Special Projects); Cynthia Wise, News Planning Manager; Greg Thies, Production Manager

Medium Market

KATU Families Matter • KATU • John Tamerlano, General Manager; JoAnne James, General Sales Manager; Steve Denari, Director of Creative Services; Lydia Nguyen, Producer; KyAnn Lewis, News Director

Dan Kleckner’s Golf Classic • KHQ • Scott Warder, Promotions Manager; Greg Nowell, Editor; Patricia McRae, KHQ President; Traci Zeravica, News Director; Dan Kleckner, Anchor; Neal Boling, KHQ General Manager; Luke Thoburn, Executive Producer; Josh Godfrey, Promotions Director; Eric Holtz, Promotions Editor

Project Inspire • KREM • Jane McCarthy, Reporter; Brett Allbery, Photographer

KXLY4 Extreme Team • KXLY • Mark Peterson, Morning Weather Anchor; Melissa Luck, Asst. News Director; Jim Hazelton, Producer/Director; Derek Smith, News Production Supervisor; Zach Wirchak, Producer/Director; Stevee Chapman, Newscast Producer; Josie Hollenback, Promotions Producer; Tracy Kusler, Promotions Producer; Terri Christensen, TV Production Supervisor; Jerry Post, News Director

Discovering Beverly Cleary • OPB • Steve Bass, President/CEO; Morgan Holm, Senior Vice President/Chief Content Officer; Dave Davis, VP TV Production; Jessica Martin, Executive Producer; Katrina Sarson, Producer; Paul Loofburrow, Marketing Director; Lauren Elkanich, Public Relations Manger; Cheryl Ikemiya, Vice President/Chief Development Officer; Jan Boyd, Director of Digital Strategy & Community Engagement; Jennifer McCormick, Marketing Manager

Small Market

Community Baby Shower • KIVI • Michelle Edmonds, Anchor; Don Nelson, Anchor; Ken Ritchie, General Manager; Bob Rosenthal, Scripps Radio General Manager; Grendel Levy, News Director; Scott Dorval, Meteorologist; Roland Beres, Anchor; Eric Holbrook, Creative Services Director; Dan McColly, Scripps Radio Operations Manager; Norma Petty, Director of Sales; Brook Bender, Scripps Radio Local Sales Manger; J Bates, TV Digital Director

More Than A Survivor • KOBI • Scott Gee, Creative Services Director; Caleb LaPlante, Executive Producer; Rebecca Bender, Writer/Advocate; Rebecca Molony, Account Executive; Bob Wise, Vice President/General Manger; Mike Porter, Senior Producer/Editor; Patsy Smullin, President

Oregon Pain Guidance • KOBI • Scott Gee, Creative Services Director; Rebecca Molony, Account Executive; Amanda Guthmiller, Producer/Editor; Bob Wise, Vice President/General Manager; Patsy Smullin, President; Jim Shames, Medical Director, Jackson County HHS; Laura Heesacker, Behavioral Health Innovation Specialist; Michelle Marikos, Certified Peer Support Specialist

Five Under 35 • KRTV • Shannon Newth, Anchor/Producer/Reporter

7 Cares Idaho Shares • KTVB • Doug Armstrong, President/General Manager; Traci Liew, Community Service Director; Kate Morris, Executive News Director; Melissa Stoner, Marketing Director; Paul Budell, Director of Technology; Erica Thornton, Executive Producer; Jess Wigley, Research Director